At two recent meetings, the DVCUD Governing Board voted to welcome two new towns into the Deerfield Valley Communications Union District (DVCUD, dba DVFiber).

Winhall and Searsburg join 20 other towns in three counties.

To gain membership in a communications union district (following state statute), a town Select Board must apply by approving to send a representative and alternates to the DVCUD governing board.

Fred Schwacke repesents Winhall, which has also voted to join the Southern Vermont Communications Union District (SoVT CUD). The Searsburg Select Board sends Matt Somerville as representative as well as Jacki Jeffers Murano and Tony Kilbride as alternates.